Advisory Council


Setting the course for sustainable maritime industry innovation. The Washington Maritime BLUE 2050 is a strategy to ensure Washington state is home to the most sustainable maritime industry by 2050, aligned with Governor Inslee’s plans for deep de-carbonization, innovation and workforce development.

Innovation Advisory Council Co-Chairs

Representative Gael Tarleton
WA State Legislature

Dennis McLerran
Cascadia Law Group, FMR. EPA
Region 10 Administrator

Frank Foti

Innovation Advisory Council Members

Senator Ann Rivers
WA State Legislature

Chairman Leonard Forsman
Suquamish Tribal Council

Commissioner Fred Felleman
Port of Seattle

Mayor Laurie Gere
City of Anacortes

Secretary Roger Millar
WA State Department of Transportation

Director Brian Bonlender
WA State Department of Commerce

Director Sheida Sahandy 
Puget Sound Partnership

Director Craig Kenworthy
Puget Sound Clean Air Agency

Director Eleni Papadakis Workforce Training and Coordinating Board

John Wolfe
Northwest Seaport Alliance

Paul Stevens

Joe Ritzman
SSA Marine

Stefanie Moreland
Trident Seafoods

Gordon Baxter
Maritime Trades

Bob Miyamoto
University of WA – Applied Physics Lab

John Dwyer
USCG Sector Puget Sound

Bruce Anderson
Starcrest Consulting

Barbara “b.g.” Nabors-Glass
Seattle Goodwill

Steering Committee

Ann Avary
COE for Marine Manufacturing and Technology

Eleanor Kirtley
Green Marine

Nan McKay
Northwest Straits Commission

Steve Sewell
Washington Maritime Federation

Andy Stewart
University of WA – Applied Physics Lab

Commerce Staff

Joshua Berger

Governor’s Maritime Sector Lead

Sarah Lee

Project Director – Industry Sector Developement Program

DNV GL Consulting Team

Anders Mikkelsen

Simon Mockler

Jennifer States